Books by D.Z. Church:

Pay Back by D.Z. ChurchPay Back: coming in September

Pay Back is the third novel in the Cooper Quartet, the story of a military family set against the tumult of the Vietnam Era.

It is April 1975. The U.S. has withdrawn leaving only a few Marines to protect the U.S. Embassy and Airbase HQ. As the North Vietnamese close in on Saigon, journalists stay on to report the advance, South Vietnamese beg to leave, and the U.S. is ready to forget—but not the Coopers.

Two acquaintances from opposite worlds call in their markers, sending Laury Cooper careening back to Saigon on a knight’s errand. Disgraced, CDR Byron Cooper is given one last chance aboard an aircraft carrier in the South China Sea. As Saigon falls, both brothers face their future, a future endangered by greed, desire, treachery, and drugs.

One of them will risk everything, including his wife and children, to win.

Buy from Amazon

Read more about Pay Back

Saving CalypsoSaving Calypso

Teen heiress Calypso Swale was about to join the U.S. Olympic equestrian team when a car crash involving a drunken Grieg Washburn, heir to Washburn Exploration (WashEx) empire, kills her parents. At the time, Larch Swale, Calypso’s father, was the COO of WashEx. Her father’s last word to her was “Run,”and Calypso obligingly disappeared with  a chunk of his money and a precious patent for a new kind of engine. Five years later, Grieg’s father is dead and it looks like someone’s trying to kill Grieg, too. WashEx’s board is offering a reward for Calypso’s return, and no one wants her found more than Grieg.

Buy from Amazon

“This well-constructed thriller provides plenty of action… The protagonists are unusual and compelling. Their mutual need to reinvent themselves in order to survive will resonate with readers as the double-crosses and questions pile up. This is a satisfying look at the devastation wrought by selfishness… Great for fans of James Patterson’s The 6th Target, David Baldacci’s A Minute to Midnight.”
Booklife Reviews

Read more about Saving Calypso

Head First by D.Z. ChurchHead First

Head First is the second novel in the Cooper Quartet, the story of a military family set against the tumult of the Vietnam Era. It is December 1972, President Nixon has ordered carpet bombing of Vietnam, and public opinion has turned sharply against the war.

For Jolie Minotier the stakes couldn’t be higher, adrift in the town where her mother, terrorist Chloe Minotier, abandoned her, fearful her mother will resurface, rejected by her father, she does the one thing she can think to do—run. But she doesn’t anticipate being kidnapped or that her father, now CDR Byron Cooper, her uncle, Laury Cooper, or her aunt, LT Robin Haas, will care. But they do. Sufficiently to endanger their lives and careers in the rush to find her.

Jolie’s disappearance sets off a chain of events from kidnapping, to heroin smuggling, to unsanctioned insertion into Vietnam that will change the landscape of the Cooper family forever.

Buy from Amazon

“As historical fiction, Head First is accurate; as a novel, it’s moving, intriguing and a successful portrait of a family living, trying to survive, during extremely trying times, under extraordinary circumstances.”
—Wanda Fischer, Reedsy Discovery

“This sequel continues the saga of the Coopers, a Navy family grappling with its past against the backdrop of the Vietnam War… Church’s prose is precise an often subtly lyrical, asking readers to pause and sit with every scene… an intriguing family saga.”
Kirkus Reviews

Read more about Head First

Dead Legend

Dead Legend by D.Z. ChurchDead Legend introduces Laury Cooper, a Marine, and his brother, Byron, a Navy pilot.

Their father, Mac Cooper, one of the Navy’s top aces, was a legend, with medals stretching from WWII to Korea. In 1955, he asked one question that ended in scandal and suicide.

Now it is 1967, as pilots sortie, equipment problems escalate until flying an A-4E attack bomber is as touch-and-go as out-maneuvering enemy missiles. When Mac Cooper’s question resurfaces, his sons, in opposition, set out to resolve the past even if uncovering the truth about Mac’s death destroys them.

Dead Legend is the first book in the Cooper Vietnam Era Quartet.

Buy from Amazon

“Church writes in a muscular prose that never loses its noirish register… there’s something compelling about the milieu and the language that keeps the reader engaged, particularly as the mysteries of Mac Cooper begin to unravel.”
—Kirkus Reviews

Read more about Dead Legend

- - -

Before Dead Legend came Perfidia

Perfidia by D.Z. ChurchThe DEA claims Olivia Lassiter’s father, Del, was last seen retrieving the wave-battered body of his drug running partner from a rocky cove in Barbados. In disbelief, Olivia outruns the DEA to Del’s safe deposit box only to uncover an emerald and ruby necklace, bearer bonds, and a rusty key.

When a couriered note from Del demands the key, and a glib Barbadian lawyer dangles intrigue, Olivia grabs the next flight to Barbados landing in the middle of a tug of war over a historic plantation, a hunt for rumored pirate booty, and a host of long kept secrets.

It will take all of Olivia’s wiles to survive Perfidia.

Buy from Amazon

 “In Church’s debut thriller… Church manages, quite impressively, to maintain a sense of a hidden but perpetual threat… Overpowering dread and a leery protagonist make this a suspenseful read.”
—Kirkus Reviews

Read more about Perfidia